30 September 2012

Nebelhorn Trophy 2012 - Day 3

The Nebelhorn Trophy is the first senior competition of the season, which will be followed by the Finlandia Trophy next week.

Day 1 included men's SP, pairs' SP and the short dance. Day 2 included ladies' SP, and pairs' and men's FP. Day 3 includes ladies' FP and free dance.


Kaetlyn Osmond won the 2012 Nebelhorn Trophy. Hardly anyone could imagine such an ending. Almost all agreed that the undisputed favorite was Russian Adelina Sotnikova. She was in second after the short program, but did a very good free landing five triples including two triple flips, a triple lutz and a beautiful double axel-triple toe combo. She fell on a triple toe, but performed a brilliant step sequence getting a level four.

Adelina Sotnikova got the second place with a tough performance: she landed a double axel-triple toe combo and some other nice triples but fell on her triple lutz and popped a flip.

Japanese Haruka Imai was able to rise from ninth to third place, thanks to an almost flawless free skate.


Madison Chock / Evan Bates won the free dance and the overall competition with a total score of 147.79 points. They impressed the audience with high level of difficulty of their program, skated to “Dr. Zhivago”.

Julia Zlobina / Alexei Sitnikov skated a very strong and lively performance earning 143.59 points overall.

The Germans Nelli Zhiganshina / Alexander Gazsi made some small mistakes in their very theatrical routine slipping to third with 142.00 points.

Sources: World Figure Skating here and here, The wrong edge of figure skating

No comments:

Post a Comment